stretchingcents

Taco Mac and Cheese for $2.58 in about 20 mins.

on January 5, 2012

 

I realized tonight that all my dinners look the same…I promise the don’t all taste the same though!  I used to have a recipe for Taco Mac and Cheese, but I can’t find it anywhere, so tonight I just sort of made it up as I went.  Here’s what I did…

Ingredients:

  • 1 box mac and cheese (with the cheese packet)
  • 1/2 lb ground deer (I cooked a full pound and have it saved for a meal in a couple days)
  • about 2 cups broccoli
  • 1/3 c taco seasoning
  • 1/3 c water
  • 1/3 c milk
  • 1 handful of cheddar cheese

To Make:

  1. Boil water in a medium sauce pan
  2. Brown meat in a skillet
  3. Add macaroni noodles and broccoli.  Boil for 6 minutes
  4. Drain pasta and broccoli, and add to meat.
  5. Mix meat, noodles, broccoli, taco seasoning, cheese packet, water & milk.
  6. Simmer on medium heat about 3 minutes until all the liquid is absorbed.
  7. Top with cheddar cheese

The Cost:

  • Mac and Cheese- Walmart brand cost 0.42
  • Meat- free
  • Broccoli- I used about another third of the same bag that was 1.98 so 0.66
  • Taco Seasoning- I can’t remember how much it was.  I bought a big container of it…but the seasoning packets are usually around 1.00
  • Milk- too cheap to calculate
  • Cheese- maybe 0.50 worth?

Total: $2.58 and I have leftovers for tomorrow’s lunch

 

One response to “Taco Mac and Cheese for $2.58 in about 20 mins.

  1. […] with meat sauce and salad.  I used the other 1/2 of the pound of browned meat from when I made Taco Mac and Cheese and about 2 cups of sauce from when I made pizza.  This dinner took me under 15 minutes (only as […]

Leave a Reply

