stretchingcents

CVS trip today: $58.98 worth of stuff for $7.74 plus $10.75 off my next purchase

on January 8, 2012

Today after church I stopped by CVS and here’s what I got (and how you can get it too!)

  • 2 Lysol 4 in1 cleaners originally priced at $4.49 each, on sale for 2/$5.  Plus I used a $1 off 2 coupon from the 1/1 SmartSource insert
  • 2 All Free & Clear Laundry detergents (HE) normally $7.79 on sale for 2/$8 plus I used two $1 off coupons from the 1/1 Red plum. (there are also coupons in the 12/4 red plum)
  • 2 Finish Dish-washing tabs normally $6.29 on sale for 2/$7 plus I used two $2.15 off coupons from 1/1 SmartSource
  • 4 Triscuits normally $4.59 on sale for 2/$5 plus I used 2 $1 off 2 coupons I printed from coupons.com

All of the above products totaled $30 before coupons, and are part of the spend $30 get $10 off your next order promotion.

  • I also bought 1 twix (only the wrapper is pictured- we ate it before we could take the picture) normally pried at $1.19 but on sale for $0.75 plus you get 0.75 off your next purchase (Yay for FREE candy bars!)

The total:

Before coupons (but after sale price): $42.04

Coupons used: $9.30

ECB’s from last week: $15

Total: $7.74

If you don’t have all the coupons listed above, you can still get some pretty good deals.  I would recommend buying more Lysol since there are several coupons in the 1/1 smartsourse and they are all 2/$5 (except the spray), Sparkle paper towels on sale for $5 for 8 rolls, or CVS Acetaminophen which is buy one get one 50% off.  Adding the products should get you $30 so you can get your $10 off.

When figuring out if I really saved anything, or just bought stuff I don’t need, I add up the products I really need/use and ignore everything else.  For this trip, I would spend $4 on the All and $3.50 on the Finish.  This would bring me to a total of $15 and I only spent $7.74 out of pocket so its a pretty good deal.  The triscuits and lysol I could probably have found cheaper at Walmart, and the twix I wouldn’t buy unless it was free, but since I bought these, I could get the deals on the other products.

Leave a Reply

