stretchingcents

This is my “I don’t feel like cooking” dinner

on January 10, 2012

My go-to dinner I always have on hand are pot pies and rice.  It takes about and hour to make, but requires no real cooking.

To Make:

  1. Combine 1/2 cup brown rice, and 1/2 cup barley in a pot with 2 1/2 cups water. I like to add a little cumin, pepper, garlic, minced onion, paprika, beef bouillon, and cayenne pepper, but the spices are not needed for a yummy dinner.  (Time saving tip-I actually already have these spices mixed together in a jar since I used them so frequently.)
  2. Bring rice and water to a boil, then reduce head to low and simmer for 50 minutes
  3. When the timer has 40 mins left pre-heat oven to 400.
  4. When timer has 30 mins left, put frozen pot-pies in oven
  5. Serve pot-pies over the rice

The Cost:

  • Pot Pies: 0.72 each, so $1.44
  • Brown Rice: I don’t really remember, I bought a huge bag a long time ago…maybe 0.25 worth?
  • Barley: same deal as the rice…0.25

The total: $2.00 ish??

One response to “This is my “I don’t feel like cooking” dinner

Leave a Reply

