stretchingcents

I’m a few meals behind…

on January 14, 2012

We haven’t been going hungry in the Butler house…I just haven’t been posting or cooking much.  Wednesday night we made a big pot of chili which is a really cheap, quick and easy meal to make.  We had planned on having cornbread too, but I was too tired.  We don’t really have a chili recipe, but I will list the ingredients we mixed together for this pot.  Seems like every time we make it its a little different, and a little better. We are still working on a winning recipe for next year’s chili cook off!

What we mixed together until it tasted good:

  • 1 Large can crushed tomatoes
  • 1 Large can diced tomatoes
  • 1 can of cooked corn
  • 1 lb ground venison
  • a handful of black beans *see below for a time saving bean tip*
  • a handful of pinto beans
  • chili powder
  • garlic powder
  • taco seasoning
  • red pepper
  • paprika
  • salt
  • pepper
  • minced onion
  • cumin (lots of it)
  • cheddar cheese for the top
  • saltines on the side

I don’t have a cost of this, but we’ll just say really cheap.  I knew I wouldn’t be home thursday night so I made enough for me to take for lunch and Zack to eat on his own Thursday. We had a busy week which is why I haven’t posted in a while, and  I ended up not cooking Friday night since part of our babysitting deal is we occasionally pay them in a pizza dinner 🙂

Time saving tip on beans: I like the taste of using dried beans, and they are soo much less expensive, but they take forever to cook. I will occasionally cook a REALLY big pot of beans, then once they cool freeze them in serving size baggies.  They thaw and re-freeze really well! We like to mix them in almost anything with ground beef to make the beef go a little farther.

2 responses to “I’m a few meals behind…

  1. melissa says:

    just gotta say that my mom used to have soup mugs like that when I was little….total blast from the past circa 1980 or so… 🙂

Leave a Reply

