stretchingcents

Applesauce Brownies

on January 22, 2012

What do you do when you really want brownies but have no eggs?? Google until you find a solution!

About a year and a half ago we made some really bad applesauce….it was the perfect consistency but had absolutely no flavor!  Since we spend an entire day working on it, I couldn’t just throw it all out, and I had heard you could use it in baking.  Yesterday I finally found a way to use it!  I substituted the applesauce in for the eggs in a regular brownie mix and it turned out perfect!  I can’t taste any difference!  They are a little on the crumbly side, but that is probably my fault since I used too big of a pan and they came out really thin.

To substitute: Use 1/4 c applesauce and 1 tsp baking powder for each egg

2 responses to “Applesauce Brownies

  1. amber says:

    You can also substitute applesauce for butter when baking muffins and other goodies. I have been on a mission here recently to make our meals healthy. My parents come over a lot and my dad just recently had a heart attack. A few days ago he had a double by pass surgery. So my goal has been to serve the same foods so he doesn’t feel like I’m changing everything but substituting ingredients with healthier options without him knowing!

Leave a Reply

