stretchingcents

Salmon and Spinach Pasta

on January 22, 2012

The only good thing about Zack being out of town for a couple days is that I can eat salmon.  When we were first married I made a REALLY awful salmon dish and now he won’t eat any salmon out of a can thing I make.  I can’t remember exactly what I made, but it was sort of a salmon spaghetti.  So far it has been the only dinner I’ve made that he just couldn’t eat.  Anyway- I have gotten better at cooking with salmon and tonight I made my favorite dinner for when Zack is away.

Ingredients:

  • 1 can salmon
  • about 1 cup spinach
  • 2 tbs butter
  • egg noodles
  • about a 1/4 onion finely chopped
  • oregano
  • chicken bouillon
  • garlic salt
  • pepper
  • salt
  • Parmesan cheese

To Make:

  1. Boil water
  2. Add noodles and set timer for 7 minutes
  3. Chop onion
  4. Add spinach when timer has 5 minutes left
  5. Put onions in a small skillet with 1/2 tbs butter, a little olive oil, a few shakes of pepper, and a few shakes of garlic salt on med-high heat
  6. When onion are starting to turn clear (about 1 minute) add entire can of salmon (be sure to drain out the liquid first)
  7. When timer goes off, drain noodles and spinach
  8. Add rest of butter, onion, salmon, and about 1/2 tsp chicken bouillon and 1/2 tsp oregano to pot.
  9. Mix until butter is melted.
  10. Add salt, pepper, and parmesan cheese till it tastes good!

The cost: I don’t have any real idea.  My sister gave me the salmon awhile ago because she had more than she could eat.  The noodles might have been a dollar, and maybe $0.50 on spinach?

Leave a Reply

