stretchingcents

Dinner tonight: Ham, Applesauce and the easiest homemade Maccaroni ever

on June 11, 2012

Tonight’s dinner was somewhat of a “yellow dinner”.  Growing up we ate this meal frequently so even today I can’t eat ham unless I have applesauce and macaroni with it!  The applesauce was some homemade sauce by my mom so it was FREE 🙂  The ham was an 8 lb spiral ham I got on sale at Martins originally priced at $14.89 in the clearance meat section for $5.21!!!  I plan on slicing some of it thin for sandwiches and then freezing the rest.  The ham had some fat that I’ll freeze and use for cooking green beans later this summer…mmmm.  My macaroni is a recipe I adapted from something I saw in pinterest.  Here’s the recipe:

Easiest and Yummiest Mac and Cheese: Serves 4, done in under 15 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups of uncooked macaroni
  • 2 cups milk (I used 1 cup of whole milk and 1 cup of 2%) +plus a little more milk
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 2 tbs butter
  • 2 cups of shredded cheddar cheese (or 2 handfuls)

To Make:

  1. Put the macaroni, 2 cups of milk, butter and garlic powder in a sauce plan on high
  2. When it just starts to boil, turn the heat to low or medium low (don’t let the milk boil)
  3. Stir frequently for about 7 minutes (until noodles are soft)
  4. Add cheese.  Add more milk to get your desired consistency (I think I added maybe a 1/2 cup)

 

Variations:

  • Use skim milk and less butter to make it a little healthier
  • Use a mixture of cheddar and other cheeses
  • Hide some veggies like broccoli or cauliflower

 

 

Leave a Reply

