stretchingcents

How I create a stockpile and my stock up price list.

on June 20, 2012

I hate paying full price for ANYTHING, so I try very hard to only buy my groceries when they are on sale.  The only way this is possible to 1) plan your meals around sale items and 2) create a stock pile.  I have been couponing long enough that I have a pretty good stockpile of canned goods, toilet paper, paper towels, hair products, razors, toothpaste, cereal, diapers, wipes and a few other things.  One of my goals this summer is to really work on my stockpile since I have trouble finding the time during the school year to keep up with couponing.  Not only does it save you money, but its an awesome feeling when you suddenly need brownies for an event, or maybe you get some surprise visitors and you already have what you need on hand.

The first thing you need to start a stockpile is space.  We are lucky to have a pretty good size pantry and a large bathroom vanity in our guest bathroom.  I will not end up like the crazy couponers on extreme couponing, so I will only let my stockpile get as big as those 2 spaces will hold.  Its important to get your items organized too so you know what you have to prevent things expiring.

The second thing you need to do is figure out how much you really need.  I have a list of the items my family uses most often and a rough estimate of how much we will use in a year.  I will not stock up on more than we can use in a year.

Another key element of stockpiling is to not blow your budget trying to get your stockpile started.  It is best to work at it slowly.  I have $45 a week to spend on groceries.  I use that money first to buy what I need, then with the leftover I stock up on any good deals.  If there is nothing worth stocking up on, I save the extra money for another week.  If you don’t have any spare money, don’t worry, just keep watching the sales and eventually you will have a week where you come in under your budget. (You do have a budget right???? If not- go to my post on how to create a budget!)

The final and most important part of creating a stockpile is knowing when to stock up!  Everything goes on sale eventually…you just have to wait.  Below is my list of what I consider a “stock up” price for an item.  This is a work-in-progress…I update it as I find things for cheaper.  These are prices I have actually been able to get the items for several times.  Many stock up price lists seem incredibly unreasonable to me, but these are very do-able prices for the area I live in.  A few entries are blank because I haven’t been couponing and watching the sales long enough to figure out a stock up price.  I would highly recommend printing this list and keeping it in your purse or wallet so you have it while you are shopping.  This is also a great tool to figure out if you are truly getting a good deal at places like  Sharp Shopper, Finders Keepers or Aldi.

Stock Up List

Leave a Reply

