stretchingcents

Bacon, Tomato, and Green Bean pasta…and a way to use up baby rice cereal

on June 24, 2012

If you are someone who needs to follow an exact recipe…don’t bother trying to make this meal!  Zack was away last night so I was only cooking for one (and a half) and my main goal was to make something that included bacon, and used up the leftover tomatoes and green beans I had.  Instead of a recipe, I’ll walk you through my thought process and tell you what I did since I was making this up on the fly.

Whenever I’m not sure exactly what I’m going to make, I start by putting a pot of water to boil on the stove since just about everything I make includes boiling water at some point. I then hunted through the fridge and pulled out 4 strips of bacon (hard to believe we had leftover bacon!), about 2 cups of diced tomatoes, about a cup of green beans, the half and half, and marsala wine.  I chopped the bacon up and put it in a skillet to fry up.  About half way through I poured off some of the grease so the bacon would continue to crisp up.  About this time my water was boiling and I added 3 handfuls of penne pasta.  Once the bacon was done I drained off almost all the grease, but left a little in the pan to fry up the beans a bit.  After I let the beans cook for a bit, I added the tomatoes and marsala to the pan (enough to cover the bottom).  I let that bubble until it was mostly reduced then added enough 1/2 and 1/2 so there was a layer of it in the skillet.  I realized I was going to need something to thicken the sauce and have found one of the best ways to do this is by using baby rice cereal.  (I have about 3 boxes left and I’ve been testing out all sorts of ways to use it.)  I sprinkled a little over my sauce and stirred until I had the thickness I wanted.  Once my pasta was done I dumped it on my pasta plate and poured the bacon sauce over the noodles.

This may be one of my favorite pasta dishes so far! Even Tommy loved it!

Leave a Reply

