stretchingcents

Mushroom Meatloaf Muffins and Semi-homemade Veggie Casserole

on June 25, 2012

The picture for this meal isn’t so great…I promise it is really yummy!  I got the idea for Meatloaf Muffins from someone at some bible study a while ago and I can’t remember who made them! Sorry if it was you!  My semi-homemade veggie casserole came out of a craving for broccoli casserole, but I didn’t have all the ingredients.  I combined a box of Betty Crocker Scalloped Potatoes with a few other things and ended up with a SUPER yummy side dish.  I really messed up on the timing of this dinner and my muffins were done about 20 minutes ahead of the veggies, so be sure to make your veggies first.  (also- I lost track of time on how long I actually cooked the casserole because Tommy starting walking and I HAD to take a video!!)

Semi- Homemade veggies Casserole – serves 4

Ingredients

  • 1 box of Betty Crocker Scalloped Potatoes (has potatoes and cheese sauce powder)
  • 2 cups  hot water
  • 1 tbs melted butter
  • 2 cups of veggies (I used a broccoli and cauliflower mix)
  • 2 tbs mayo
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • about 2 handfuls of bread crumbs

To Make:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 425
  2. Spray a 2 qt baking dish nonstick spray
  3. Combine everything but the veggies and potatoes in the casserole dish.  Stir until everything is blended
  4. Add potatoes, then veggies.  Be sure all the potatoes are in liquid so they don’t stay hard.
  5. Top with bread crumbs (cheese would be yummy on top too)
  6. Bake for about 30-40 mins

Mushroom Meatloaf Muffins- serves 4

Ingredients

  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 2 handfuls of bread crumbs (I used the heals of bread torn apart that I keep in the freezer)
  • 2 eggs
  • 4 shakes of Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/2 tsp garlic salt
  • 1 tsp onion flakes
  • 1 tbs ketchup
  • 1 can of mushroom stems and pieces with liquid drained

To Make:

  1. Pre-Heat oven to 425
  2. Combine everything in a bowl making sure it is well blended. ( My bare hands seem to work best for this)
  3. Spray 8 muffin cups of a muffin pan with non-stick spray
  4. Gently press the meat mixture into the 8 muffin cups
  5. Bake about 15 minutes- until top and edges start to get crispy.  You may want to check one with a fork to be sure it is cooked all the way through.
  6. I like to dab my muffins with a paper towel  to get rid of the extra grease.
Leave a Reply

