stretchingcents

My Menu for the week.

on April 10, 2017

This week is spring break for my son and the last thing I want to be doing is going grocery shopping with 3 kids, so we are pretty much eating from the pantry and freezer this week. I will probably run out and pick up the few things I need, along with Easter basket stuffers one night after they all go to bed.

Breakfast: PBJs, cereal and milk, juice (My kids ask to eat PBJ sandwiches about 99% of the time, but I keep a box of cereal on hand just in case) Saturday morning we’ll have cinnamon rolls I made a month or so ago and froze.

Lunches:

  • Me & the kids: chicken nuggets, pbj, noodles, clementines, green beans, ham & cheese crackers, leftovers (I’ll let them choose from these choices for lunch) 
  • Hubby: Always takes a PBJ, apple and chips and this week we have leftover brownies so he’ll take those too

Dinner:

  • Monday- Breakfast for dinner- eggs (free from a neighbor!), bacon, canned peaches, and either pancakes or waffles (kids pick)
  • Tuesday- Chinese stir fry (made with speg. noodles, frozen veggies, and stir fry sauce) and homemade cabbage/carrot/chicken egg rolls. (I made a huge batch of egg rolls a few months ago and froze them.)
  • Wednesday- Corn Beef, Cabbage & Potatoes in crock pot (Around St. Patricks day I stocked up on corned beef)
  • Thursday- Fast dinner because we have a church event- Cheese quesadillas, salsa, sour cream, frozen corn. (This is my go-to cheap/fast dinner!)
  • Friday- Fast dinner b/c of T-ball game: Frozen pizza, and green beans (or salad if I still have lettuce that looks good from this weekend)
  • Saturday- Hot dogs, homemade french fries or chips (kids pick) and apples (Hot dogs are from freezer.  We buy the big ones from Costco which are more expensive but so yummy!)
  • Sunday- Easter dinner at my Moms

Other– Plan on dying eggs with the kid and making peanut butter eggs.  Thursday I need to take egg salad sandwiches for an event at church.

Grocery List: clementines, apples, milk, bread, powdered sugar, coffee creamer, hot dog buns, juice

I will probably be under my grocery budget this week, and will most likely use the extra money to buy sale items once the new sales ads come out on Wednesday.  I will also try to save a little back since we have a birthday party to shop for next week 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

