stretchingcents

Ham and Broccoli One Pot Pasta Dinner, plus other tips for getting the most out of a ham (or turkey)!

on April 19, 2017

IMG_20170419_170828373I posted awhile ago that Easter is the time of year to stock up on hams.  Well I did, and this week my little family of 5 is eating one!  If you have ever tried to eat an entire ham or turkey with just your family, you know you tend to get sick of it before it’s all gone.  Here are a few ways we like to stretch the meat as far as possible without eating the same thing every night for 2 weeks.  Almost all of these ideas work for hams or turkeys.

Dinner #1: Cook the ham following the package directions and serve with sides.  For our ham I cooked it for 25 mins per pound in a casserole dish with a little water and covered with foil.  For our first dinner we just eat the meat sliced off the bone.

What to do with the leftovers: First, cut all the meat off the bone into a mix of sandwich slices and cubes and place in fridge.  Next, for ham I take all the juices and put them in a mason jar into the freezer to use as ham stock or bean juice later.  I wrap the bone and freeze it to use in pork and beans, or soup later. (Once its been boiled for soup or whatever I give it to the dog!).  Save the fat to use in green beans if you like to eat your beans that way.  For turkey, I take all the juice, fat and bones and put them into a large pot and boil for about an hour.  Then strain the juice and freeze in mason jars to use as stock later.

Other Dinner ideas:

  • Sandwiches
  • Toast meat with slices of cheddar on triscuit crackers for a yummy snack.
  • Combine meat, noodles, veggies and stock for soup
  • Quesadillas
  • Salads
  • Omelets
  • Stir fry
  • Fettuccine or some sort of pasta dish See my recipe below

Once you are sick of eating ham or turkey, freeze whatever you have left into family serving sizes to use later.  Already cooked meat is great for a quick dinner night!

My Ham, Broccoli and Cheesy Pasta “recipe”- Done in under 30 minutes and made in 1 pot!

I say “recipe” because I hardly ever use a recipe.  I made this up as I went along tonight so nothing is really exact.  Feel free to message me or comment if you need more details.  It took me about 30 minutes to make this, but that included completely stopping everything so I could go referee an argument over legos, plus several short breaks to stop Isaac from eating blocks, an argument over who had the red cup, and a discussion on why we don’t jump on the back of the sofa 🙂

  1. Boil noodles (I used garden rotini) in a pot with about 2 cups of stock and enough water to cover noodles.  I used a half a box of noodles (about 2 cups) for my family of 5, but you can adjust this amount by adding more or less noodles, stock and water.
  2. Add frozen broccoli in the last 2-3 minutes of cooking noodles. I used chopped broccoli because it cooks quickly.
  3. Strain liquid into a large measuring cup and set pasta and broccoli in a serving dish.  I placed my colander over my big 4 cup pyrex measuring cup to separate the liquid from the noodles.
  4. In your now empty pot, add about 2 tbs of butter and about 1 tbs of flour to create a roux.  Heat until bubbly and then slowly pour in the liquid you saved.  Boil until thick and add about 1 large handful of grated cheddar cheese.  Stir until all melted.
  5. Return the noodles and broccoli to the pan.  Add chopped ham (I used about 2 cups).  Stir until all combined.
  6. Pour everything back into the serving bowl or just leave in the pot!

I served this with buttered wheat toast.  Everyone ate it and liked it so its a keeper!

 

One response to “Ham and Broccoli One Pot Pasta Dinner, plus other tips for getting the most out of a ham (or turkey)!

  1. Allie says:

    Sounds good. I’d eat it!

Leave a Reply

