stretchingcents

$79.31 for a week of groceries (plus diapers) and my menu for the week.

on April 24, 2017

IMG_20170424_121757108This week I went I spent a little more than I would have liked, but if you subtract out the cost of diapers (about $9 for 2 packs) which comes out of the “kids” portion of my monthly budget I didn’t do too bad.  Here’s what I got at Food Lion this week:

  • Carrots- $1.79
  • Watermelon- $2.99 It rolled behind the chips in the picture
  • Lemon- $0.79 Why? Because Alice insisted she wanted a lemon with her lunch and didn’t believe men when I told she wouldn’t like it I thought I’d go ahead and let her try…she no longer likes lemons (unless they are in water)
  • Lettuce- $1.59
  • Mushrooms- $1.59
  • Dried Cranberries- $5.59 Cheaper than fruit snacks!
  • Coffee x 2- $4.99 each
  • Juicy Juice x 2- $3.10 for both They were B1G1 
  • Green Beans x 9 – $0.50 each
  • Canned corn x 2 – $0.50 each
  • Canned peas – $0.50 Again Alice insisted she likes canned peas but I’m pretty sure she won’t.
  • Large can of beans- $3.59 I need this for an event this week
  • 5 boxes of cereal- $11.13 total This is NOT a good price on cereal but I get 27 oz free a month on WIC.  Unfortunately the cereals I am allowed to chose are not very healthy so we eat the free cereal for snacks instead of breakfast.
  • Peanut butter x 2- $2.17 each It is cheaper to get the larger containers, but this is the size I have to get for WIC
  • Tortilla chips- $1.97
  • Sour Cream chips- $1.49
  • Store brand wheat bread x 2- $1.06
  • Nature Valley wheat bread- $3.39 Free on WIC, otherwise not a good deal!
  • Cupcake liners- $3.48 Why are they so expensive?!?!
  • 1% Milk- $1.39
  • Whole Milk – $1.49 Both milks are free on WIC
  • Luvs- $3.99
  • Huggies- $4.99 I had a -$3.00 coupon

Total after tax: $79.31 Total after WIC- $57.03

My Menu for the week: Note- many of our dinners do not appear super healthy, BUT my kids eat crazy amounts of fruits and veggies during the day as snacks so at dinner my goal is to get protein in them.

We ate out at our favorite Mexican Restaurant Sunday night (El Paso). We always have leftover rice and beans which we bring home and incorporate into our dinners during the week.

Monday- Nachos, Corn, and fruit.  We use the leftover rice and beans from Sunday and top with cheese to make a yummy nacho dip.IMG_20170424_172320892

Tuesday- Big Salads- Lettuce, ham, hard boiled egg, cranberries, sunflower seeds, cheese, carrots &  homemade croutons.  The kids usually eat just the “toppings” for dinner. See my recipe for croutons below.

Wednesday- Spaghetti and Salad (leftover from Tuesday night)

Thursday- Quesadillas, corn, and salad.  Quesadillas will be made with cheese mixed with the rest of the rice and beans from Sunday

Friday- Carnival at the school- We will either eat dinner there, or have a frozen pizza at home.

Saturday- PBJ, fruit, and chips picnic at the playground since we have a late Tee Ball game

Sunday- Homemade fried chicken, green beans, and mashed potatoes.

Homemade crouton “Recipe”:

My kids refuse to eat the heals of bread, and frankly I don’t like them either! I save all the heals in a bread bag in the freezer.  Once the bag gets full, I either make croutons or french toast casserole!

To make croutons:

  1. Cut bread into squares
  2. Season with olive oil and spices
  3. Toast in oven set at 400 degrees for about 15 minutes flipping every few minutes.  Careful! They go from not done to burnt super fast!
  4. Store in tupperware container or freeze in a gallon size ziplock.  To use from frozen- pull out what you need and toast in the toaster oven until warm.

 

Leave a Reply

