stretchingcents

Roasted red pepper hummus ravioli over venison and marsala sauce

on January 7, 2012

                 

Tonight’s dinner wasn’t my best…but I think It’ll be pretty good next time I make it.  We were supposed to have spaghetti, but I didn’t feel like eating that, so since I had time I figured I’d make something else.  I found a recipe for sun dried tomato raviolis from an old Rachael Ray magazine that looked really good, but when I went to Food Lion I couldn’t find any sun dried tomatoes.  I decided to make up something else, and saw some roasted red pepper hummus and figured that would make a pretty good ravioli filling.

The raviolis had too much of a red pepper taste, so next time I think I’ll mix in something else.  Maybe ricotta, or mashed potatoes, or cheese, or I dunno.  Anyway, here is what I made, but I wouldn’t recommend making it exactly like it did!

Ingredients:

  • 16 Wonton wrappers
  • Roasted Red Pepper Hummus (about half a container)
  • 2 small deer steaks
  • 3 oz of mushrooms (1/2 a container)
  • 1/2 an onion
  • 1 garlic clove
  • About 1/2 cup of Marsala wine
  • 1 tsp chicken bouillon
  • 1/2 cup 1/2 and 1/2
  • 1 cup of water
  • 2 tbs corn starch
  • Salt & Pepper
  • olive oil (2 swirls around the pan)
  • butter

To Make:

  1. Lay out wonton wrappers and fill with a drop of hummus (see picture above) I would use less than we did in the picture
  2. Wet the edge of the wonton by dipping your finger in water, then fold in half and press to seal.
  3. Cut onion into small pieces, and put into a skillet.  Add crushed garlic, and about two swirls around the pan of olive oil.  Add mushrooms and cook until onions just start to turn clear.
  4. While onions are cooking, cut steak into bite size cubes.
  5. When onions are done, remove from skillet and add steak
  6. Brown steak on both sides and remove from skillet.
  7. Add Marsala, chicken bouillon and water and bring to boil
  8. Melt enough butter in another skillet to just coat the pan, and fry the wontons on each side until lightly brown.
  9. Have your sauce mixture boiling for about 5 mins, then add 1/2 and 1/2.
  10. Mix cornstarch with a little water so it doesn’t get clumpy, and add to sauce to thicken.
  11. Add mushrooms. onions, and steak back to sauce and let simmer about 3 more mins.

The Cost:

  • Salad to eat on the side: 1.39
  • Wonton wrappers: 2.50 for 48, so 0.83 for 16
  • Mushrooms: 1.79 (used half in sauce and half in salad)
  • Garlic: 1.49 for 3 bulbs, I used maybe .05 worth?
  • Hummus: 1.99, so 0.99 for the 1/2 I used
  • Onion: really cheap
  • Marsala: probably paid about 4.00 for the bottle, so maybe 0.5 (We like to cook with real wine because it has less salt and more flavor than cooking wine.  We try not to ever spend more than 4.00 on it though)
  • Other ingredients: I’ll guess about 1.00 for them all

The total: $6.55 and done in just a little over 30 mins


Leave a comment